Frequently Asked Questions

No lock in contracts and no hidden fees.

24/7 Monitoring Service

My Safety Buddy gives you the flexibility whether to have your Emergency Notifications received by the My Safety Buddy 24/7 Monitoring Service or sent directly to your Emergency Contacts.

The My Safety Buddy app can be installed on both Android and Apple:
    • Android smartphones (for most Android phones the minimum is 7.0 Nougat and current maximum is 9.0 Pie)
    • Apple smartphones (iOS 10.0 or later)
To work properly on an iPhone, the ‘Location’ setting should be set to ‘Always’ on your iPhone. This allows the app to work correctly in the background.

Note that even with this set to ‘Always Allow’, My Safety Buddy can only track your location while you are signed in to My Safety Buddy.

Depending on your iPhone and iOS version, you may not be given the option to select 'Always' during installation.

If this is the case, navigate to Settings->Privacy->Location Services->MSB then select 'Always'

iOS Location Settings

24x7 Monitoring is not included in the Basic Plan.

24x7 Monitoring is included on the Plus and Premium plans.

Simply choose a My Safety Buddy plan to suit you.

As all users in the same My Safety Buddy Network must be on the same My Safety Buddy plan, they will all either have or not have 24/7 Monitoring. However you could divide your team into 2 Networks – one with 24/7 Monitoring and one without.
The My Safety Buddy app is designed to run on Android and Apple smartphones. It also runs on Apple iPads.

You can access the My Safety Buddy Web Portal from any device (desktop, laptop, tablet or phone) that has an internet browser.
Only the Basic Plan has the First 30 Days FREE.
You will be billed monthly in arrears for any My Safety Buddy services that you use after your first 30 days at the rate of your My Safety Buddy plan.
You can give us a call on 1300 90 20 20 or just email us here and we'll cancel your plan.
Although the My Safety Buddy app can use local Wi-Fi networks, smartphones with the My Safety Buddy app installed will need to have mobile data in order to use the app when moving around the community.
The My Safety Buddy Web Portal can be accessed from any device (desktop, laptop, tablet or phone) that has an internet browser. Click here to access the Web Portal.
Yes! Give us a call or chat online to discuss.
In general, all users within a My Safety Buddy Network must be on the same My Safety Buddy plan.

If you would like different staff on different plans, you can create different My Safety Buddy Networks to do this. Give us a call or chat online to discuss.
My Safety Buddy will send Emergency Notifications to the user’s emergency contact(s) by automated voice call, SMS and email* when an emergency alarm is activated.
When an emergency alarm has been cancelled, My Safety Buddy will send alarm cancellations to the user’s emergency contact(s) by SMS and email*.

Emergency Notifications are NOT sent when the user completes check ins without triggering an alarm. As such My Safety Buddy Emergency Notification Credits are NOT used when the user routinely completes check ins without triggering an alarm.

My Safety Buddy Emergency Notifications are included in the Plus and Premium plans.

For the Lite and Basic plans, My Safety Buddy Emergency Notifications are $0.50 per Emergency Notification per Emergency Contact.

For example:

The user activates an emergency alarm.
One My Safety Buddy Emergency Notification Credit per Emergency Contact will be used to notify each Emergency Contact of the emergency alarm activation and later that the emergency alarm has been cancelled.

If a user has two Emergency Contacts, two My Safety Buddy Emergency Notification Credits will be used per emergency alarm activation.
Each user may have as many emergency contacts as they like.

Generally it is best to have a few emergency contacts for each user to ensure at least one emergency contact is always available to respond.

For example, you may choose to have a team leader plus a couple of other people to be the emergency contacts for all staff in their team.
My Safety Buddy SMS Broadcasts are used to send SMS broadcasts from the Web Portal to Your My Safety Buddy Network Members.

This functionality is available on the Basic, Plus and Premium plans.

Each My Safety Buddy SMS Broadcast uses one (1) or more My Safety Buddy SMS Credits per recipient. The number of credits is determined by the length of the message. My Safety Buddy SMS Credits are $0.10 each.

My Safety Buddy SMS Broadcast Credits are NOT used when SMS are sent as part of Emergency Notifications.
We guide you through the best way to set up your My Safety Buddy Network to meet your organisation’s needs.
Bulk User Setup is our process to create and configure accounts for all your administrators and all your users.

We guide you through the collection of your users’ information and we then user our bulk upload facility to set up all your users in My Safety Buddy.
The My Safety Buddy Learning Centre provides a series of short eLearn modules specific to users (Network Members) and to administrators (Network Owner and Delegates) explaining all the features of My Safety Buddy.

Hosted on the Holland Thomas Learning Management System, learners sign in using their My Safety Buddy credentials to access the content relevant to them.

Organisations can determine which modules are to be mandatory and which are to be optional. Completion tracking will assist with compliance requirements for your organisation.
The Administrator Workshop is for those who require a deeper understanding of My Safety Buddy in order to be My Safety Buddy leaders in your workplace.

Typically administrators (Network Owners and Delegates) will attend the Administrator Workshops.
User training is usually through a series of short eLearn modules provided in the online My Safety Buddy Learning Centre.

The User Workshop is designed for staff who may struggle with technology and require a face-to-face training experience to help them.
We can help you to manage the people side of implementing My Safety Buddy in your organisation in order to optimise benefits and minimise obstacles for the organisation, staff and customers.
A user’s location can be extremely important in an emergency to assist emergency contacts when responding to an alarm so we generally recommend that you use this feature.

However this is optional and each user can configure their options differently.
Payment can be made by credit card or monthly invoicing. Give us a call or chat online to discuss which option suits you best.
You will be billed monthly in arrears for each user at the rate of the plan you have selected.
Your monthly fee will be adjusted down accordingly.
There are no lock-in contracts or cancellation fees. You can choose to cancel without charge at any time.